- Why There Is No Published Exam Calendar
- What Actually Gates Your Exam Date
- What You Are Scheduling: Format of the Exam
- Fees, Payment Options and When You Pay
- Working Backward from Your Target Date
- Which Domains to Schedule in Which Order
- What to Verify Before You Commit to a Date
- After the Exam: Renewal Dates to Track
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Post Rehab Conditioning Specialist (PRCS) sources reviewed publish no fixed 2026 testing windows or registration deadlines.
- Your exam date is gated by completing all 33 PRCS Sessions, their quizzes and ten clinic-observation hours.
- The written component requires at least 80%; the 2020 issuer notice also describes three practical case studies.
- Current offers list the exam as included in the course price, so confirm any separate exam fee before paying.
Why There Is No Published Exam Calendar
Most candidates searching for PRCS exam dates expect a calendar: a spring window, a fall window, a registration cutoff. For the Post Rehab Conditioning Specialist credential, that expectation does not match what the issuer publishes. The credential is offered by the American Academy of Health, Fitness, & Rehabilitation Professionals (AAHFRP) through its Medical Exercise Training Institute (METI), and the issuer pages reviewed for this article describe a course-first pathway rather than a fixed schedule of testing dates.
In practice, that means your "exam date" is something you reach rather than something you book months in advance. The exam sits at the end of a sequence: qualify, complete the curriculum, complete clinic observation, then test. The 2020 issuer announcement on final exams describes the exam as delivered online, at home, rather than at a physical test center on assigned days, which is another reason a traditional window-and-deadline calendar does not apply in the usual way.
If you are still orienting yourself on what the credential actually is, start with What Is PRCS Certification? and then come back here to plan your timeline.
What Actually Gates Your Exam Date
Because there is no calendar to wait for, your real scheduling constraints are prerequisites you control. There are three gates, and they must be cleared in order.
Gate 1: Qualifying background
Entry requires one qualifying background. Per the issuer, that can be any one of the following:
- A nationally recognized personal-training certification
- A health- or fitness-related degree
- At least one year as a rehabilitation or exercise technician in a clinical setting
- A listed qualifying credential in Pilates, corrective exercise, kinesiology, therapy assistance, athletic training or massage
If you are not certain which of these you hold, resolve that first. The full eligibility picture is covered in PRCS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Gate 2: All 33 lessons and quizzes
The PRCS curriculum is organized as 33 PRCS Sessions, each with a quiz. You must complete every lesson and quiz before the examination. These are preparation-curriculum topics rather than a formally weighted exam blueprint, so there are no published percentage weights to help you triage. Skipping lessons is not a strategy this pathway supports.
Gate 3: Ten clinic-observation hours
The issuer also requires ten hours of clinic observation before you sit for the exam. This is the gate most likely to stretch your timeline, because it depends on a clinic's willingness and availability rather than on your own study pace. Do not treat it as something to line up at the end.
Key Takeaway
Arrange your ten clinic-observation hours early, in parallel with coursework. Course hours and observation hours are prerequisites, not exam time limits, and observation scheduling is the most common reason a target date slips.
What You Are Scheduling: Format of the Exam
The most detailed format description comes from a dated issuer article, "MEST Final Exams Are Online!!", published November 25, 2020. It describes the PRCS final as two parts:
| Component | Described format | Passing standard |
|---|---|---|
| Written | 100 multiple-choice questions | 80% required |
| Practical | Three case studies | Pass each case |
| Delivery | Online, at home, via an unnamed third-party collaboration | Not specified beyond the above |
Two cautions apply. First, that question count and case format carry a 2020 source date, so treat them as the most recent published description rather than a guaranteed current specification. Second, that notice does not establish a current PRCS time limit. The three-hour written and two-hour practical timers mentioned in the same article belong to the separate Medical Exercise Specialist (MES) exam and should not be assumed for PRCS. Likewise, specific proctoring and open-book rules were not retrievable from public pages, so confirm them with the issuer before test day.
The current standalone PRCS page states a minimum of 80% to pass. For a closer look at what that threshold means, see PRCS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for realistic expectations on difficulty, read How Hard Is the PRCS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Fees, Payment Options and When You Pay
Timing questions are often really payment questions: when do you pay, and does the exam cost extra? The published offers are as follows.
| Source | Published offer | Exam included? |
|---|---|---|
| Standalone PRCS page | $597 accelerated option, or six payments of $99.50 (standard option) | Yes |
| Dedicated PRCS store page | $500 pay-out option, or six $99.50 installments | Offer described separately |
These are distinct published offers, not a single reconciled price. Checkout could not be accessed when this information was reviewed, so the payable total at purchase should be confirmed directly. The 2020 article also mentions a historical $99 exam charge. Do not add that on top of the current exam-included course offer unless the issuer confirms a separate charge applies today.
If you choose the six-installment route, remember that a payment plan stretches over months, which can interact with your target exam date. For a full breakdown, see PRCS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Working Backward from Your Target Date
Since the issuer does not impose an external deadline, you set your own. A useful approach is to pick the date by which you want the credential in hand (for example, before a job application, a new client intake season or a renewal of another credential) and work backward through the three gates.
- Confirm eligibility. Identify which qualifying background applies to you and gather documentation.
- Lock in observation. Contact clinics now for your ten hours. Allow slack for scheduling.
- Pace the 33 sessions. Divide the lessons across your available weeks, leaving a buffer at the end for review.
- Reserve review time. Session 32, "MES/PRCS Exam Review and Procedures," is the issuer's own review module. Treat it as the starting point of your final-prep phase, not a formality.
- Confirm exam logistics. Verify technology requirements, time limits and any proctoring rules before you begin the written component.
Because the written exam is 80% pass-or-fail and the cases are pass-or-fail individually, there is little advantage to rushing. A candidate who finishes early but is weak on the lumbar spine or case studies gains nothing from the speed.
Which Domains to Schedule in Which Order
This is the one place a study schedule is worth building, and it should follow how the curriculum itself is structured rather than a generic template. The 33 sessions fall into natural clusters, and the order matters because later material assumes earlier foundations.
Foundations and scope
- Medical Exercise Opportunities, Income and the Future
- Scope of Practice and Role of the MES and PRCS
- Medical Exercise Foundations, Parts 1 and 2
- 6 Keys to Medical Exercise Program Design
Upper extremity
- Clinical Anatomy and Pathology of the Shoulder
- Shoulder Protocols/Guidelines, Parts 1 and 2
- Medical Exercise Case Studies of the Shoulder
- Elbow, Wrist & Hand anatomy, pathology and protocols
Spine
- Lumbar Spine anatomy and pathology, Parts 1 and 2
- Lumbar Spine Protocols/Guidelines, Parts 1 and 2
- Cervical Spine Protocols/Guidelines
Lower extremity
- Hip anatomy, pathology and protocols
- Knee anatomy/pathology and Protocols, Parts 1 and 2
- Ankle/Foot anatomy, pathology and protocols
Special populations and assessment
- Management of Diabetes and Hypertension
- CVA, MS and Parkinson's disease
- Osteoarthritis, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoporosis and Fibromyalgia
- Musculoskeletal Screening, Functional Assessment Scales, Medical Exercise Skills Checklist
Business and review
- Multiple Streams of Medical Exercise Income
- Medical Exercise Training: The New Modality
- MES/PRCS Exam Review and Procedures
The reasoning is straightforward. The shoulder block comes early because it is the only region with a dedicated case-studies session, which previews how the practical portion is likely to think: assessment, pathology, protocol, progression. The spine block is placed in the middle because it is the heaviest region by session count, with lumbar anatomy and protocols each split into two parts plus a separate cervical session. The special-population and assessment sessions come late because they synthesize regional knowledge into screening and clinical decision-making.
This sequence is a suggested pacing, not an issuer-mandated order, and the 14-week span is only an example. Compress or extend it to fit your observation schedule. For a deeper treatment of every content area, see PRCS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 33 Content Areas, and for a full preparation plan see PRCS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
What to Verify Before You Commit to a Date
Several details relevant to scheduling were not retrievable from public sources. Before you plan around a specific day, confirm these directly with the issuer:
- Current time limits for the written component and the case studies. The 2020 notice does not state PRCS timers, and the MES timers do not transfer.
- Proctoring and open-book rules. Public pages did not specify them.
- Exam availability after course completion. Confirm whether the exam unlocks immediately or on a schedule.
- Retake policy and any retake fee. Not documented in the sources reviewed.
- Total payable amount at checkout. The published offers differ between pages.
Treat anything not stated by the issuer as unknown rather than filling the gap with assumptions from other credentials. Pass-rate data, for example, is not something you should assume exists; see PRCS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for what can and cannot be said.
Key Takeaway
Write down your open questions about timing, proctoring and retakes, and get written answers from the issuer before paying. Because third-party sites often mix up credentials that share the PRCS acronym, the issuer's own pages and support channel are the only reliable source.
After the Exam: Renewal Dates to Track
Once you pass, your next calendar item is renewal. Per the METI Certification Renewal page, including its 2026 update, the certification renews every two years. Renewal requires:
- Ten combined qualifying hours of medical-exercise education and clinical observation
- Separate Medical Exercise Professional Ethics training
- A $50 renewal fee
The 2026 update also allows qualifying documented nonprofit volunteer hours to count toward the ten-hour requirement; verification requires a signed letter from the nonprofit's director documenting dates, hours and activities. Coursework submitted for renewal must be taught by an issuer-listed licensed medical professional. If a credential lapses and the expiration exceeds one year, reinstatement costs $100. Graduates from before January 2012 who have not completed Medical Exercise Foundations face an additional foundations-training requirement.
The linked renewal form's PDF body could not be viewed, so no form-specific terms are assumed here. Set a calendar reminder well ahead of your two-year mark and keep documentation of every qualifying hour as you earn it.
It is also worth remembering what the credential is and is not. PRCS is a post-rehabilitation conditioning credential, not a physical-therapy license. If you are weighing the investment of time and fees against career outcomes, see Is the PRCS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and PRCS Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Frequently Asked Questions
The issuer pages reviewed do not publish fixed testing windows or registration deadlines for the Post Rehab Conditioning Specialist credential. The exam follows completion of the 33 sessions, quizzes and ten clinic-observation hours, so your date is largely self-determined. Confirm current availability with the issuer.
No. The issuer requires completing all 33 lessons and quizzes and ten clinic-observation hours before the examination. You must also hold one qualifying background, such as a recognized personal-training certification or a health or fitness degree.
A 2020 issuer notice describes the exam as delivered online, at home, through an unnamed third-party collaboration. Specific proctoring and open-book rules were not retrievable, so verify the current delivery method and requirements before scheduling.
Current published offers state the exam is included with the course, at $597 for the accelerated option or six payments of $99.50. A $99 exam charge appears in the 2020 article, but it is historical and should not be added without issuer confirmation.
Every two years. Renewal needs ten combined qualifying education or clinic-observation hours, separate Medical Exercise Professional Ethics training and a $50 fee. Reinstatement after expiration beyond one year costs $100. To practice the content before you test, try the PRCS practice tests and review your weak regions.
Planning around the real gates, rather than a calendar that does not exist, keeps your timeline honest. Complete your prerequisites, confirm the unknowns directly with the issuer, and use realistic practice questions to judge when you are ready to schedule.